Gratuitous Bea Arthur Post

On the one-year anniversary of Translinguistic Other, I unearthed several of the most popular search terms that bring unsuspecting viewers to stumble onto my blog, among them “Jesus,” “William Blake,” “dinosaurs,” “erotic art,” and “Bea Arthur.”  In order to keep giving you lovely folks what you apparently want, I’m going to be making gratuitous posts on these hot topics from time to time.  Today I will be killing two birds with one stone, tagging this one both “Bea Arthur” and “erotic art.”

John Currin - Bea Arthur

John Currin. Bea Arthur Naked, 1991.

In 2006, Karen Rosenberg asked the painter John Currin about his inspiration for his infamous portrait of Bea Arthur in an interview for New York Magazine:

[The] Bea Arthur painting is from Maude, which I used to watch as a kid. In the eighties, I didn’t have TV for, like, a whole decade. When I started watching again in the nineties, The Golden Girls was in syndication. When I had a loft with Sean and Kevin Landers, we’d always take a break in the afternoon and watch The Golden Girls. When I made the painting, I was living in Hoboken and still making abstract paintings, and I was very frustrated. I was walking back from the PATH train and this vision of Bea Arthur just came to me.

Whoa!  Looks like I get to tag this one “visionary art” as well!  You’re welcome.

~ by emilypothast on November 6, 2009.

One Response to “Gratuitous Bea Arthur Post”

  1. nice picture

Leave a comment