Happy Blogoversary to Me: The Translinguistic Other Greatest Hits Show

William Blake. Portrait of Newton. Pen and ink with watercolor, 1795.

William Blake. Portrait of Newton. Pen and ink with watercolor, 1795.

I started this blog one year ago today.  In honor of this occasion, I did a little digging in my stats to see what I could find.  I discovered that of the 153 posts I’ve written, these have been the most popular:

1. The Golden Girls and the Great Goddess – Weighing in at over 4,128 views in the past 5 months and counting, the most popular post on Translinguistic Other is a semi-serious examination of pagan themes in the Golden Girls, revealing the enduring presence of the triple goddess of birth, love, and death in the personalities and relationships of the protagonists.

2. Eyes All Around.  What do Jan Van Eyck, Hildegard of Bingen, and theoretical physicist Garrett Lisi’s multidimensional model of the universe have in common?  The answer is the subject of my second most popular post of all time.

3. The next two posts, Vadge at the VAG, about the feminist art retrospective WACK!, and Let’s Talk about Sex: or, How I Became an Erotic Artist, about the Seattle Erotic Art Festival, seem to be popular because of search terms like “erotic art,” “sex,” and, yes, “vadge.”  I am extra proud of providing those vadge seekers with an eyeful of Carolee Schneemann’s Interior Scroll.

4. Eternal But Not Immortal: Painting Under Attack at Seattle Art Museum.  Not surprising, considering the popularity of this blockbuster show.

5. Rounding out the top are a handful of posts relating to religion and spirituality: Richard Dawkins Proves Poem False contrasts the vituperative rhetoric of the so-called “New Atheists” with the brilliant humility of fellow scientist Chet Raymo, while High Fructose Corn Syrup for the Soul makes the case that certain fundamentalist Christians—in this case, a deacon from Seattle megachurch Mars Hill—are in the business of peddling a belief system that rivals Dawkins’s in its godlessness.  On the lighter side, Created in our Image examines the phenomenon of uniquely American representations of Christ.

Aside from “translinguistic other,” my most popular search terms have been “golden girls,” “william blake,”  “bea arthur,” “dinosaur”  and “jesus.”  Yes, dinosaur.  Who knew?

Jesus riding a dinosaur. Image source unknown.

Less popular in terms of overall clicks but important to me and my primary audience are the art reviews I’ve written about exhibitions by local artists whose work happens to align with my interests.  Of these, some of my favorites have been about Brendan Jansen and Anne Mathern and Chad Wentzel at Crawl Space, Yann Novak at Lawrimore Project, Lauren Grossman at Howard House, Mandy Greer at Museum of Contemporary Craft, and Zack Bent at Gallery 4Culture.  Dramatically underrepresented, unfortunately, are reviews of exhibitions that occur outside my walking radius, a situation I do not see being remedied as long as I’m trying to do ten thousand things with my time.

So there you have it.  As I begin the second year of this humble, sporadically-maintained blog, I will keep in mind what you want from me and try to work Bea Arthur, William Blake, and dinosaurs into every other post.  Meanwhile, it’s up to all of you to make sure that interesting things continue to fall into my lap.  Thanks for reading!

bea arthur

~ by emilypothast on October 22, 2009.

2 Responses to “Happy Blogoversary to Me: The Translinguistic Other Greatest Hits Show”

  1. Splendid! Here’s to the next year😀

  2. Aw heck! Yippee and congratulations!

Leave a Reply

 
