Larry Sommers

I am sad to report that Larry Sommers, longtime printmaking tech at the University of Washington, artist, activist, and friend, has passed away following a heart attack he suffered while attending Southern Graphics Council in Chicago.

I’ll always remember Larry as the glue that held my grad school experience together while the department was being dismantled around us.  When I get home tonight I’ll post some pictures of Larry in rare form at an Iraq war protest rally in ’04. Meanwhile, here’s an example of his work from an exhibition at PrintZero Studios in 2007.

Larry Sommers. Toy Soldiers. Silkscreen, 2007. Image via PrintZero Studios.

Larry Sommers. Toy Soldiers. Silkscreen, 2007. Image via flicker.com/photos/printzerostudios

Goodbye, friend.  You will be missed.

~ by emilypothast on April 3, 2009.

5 Responses to “Larry Sommers”

  1. please do share the photos of larry. i’m about to graduate from the soa and i don’t know what we’ll do without him. we are all heartbroken.

  2. Thanks for the note. I posted the one I could find here: https://emilypothast.wordpress.com/2009/04/04/in-memoriam/. Congratulations and good luck on your graduation from the School of Art. I can’t even begin to imagine that place without him.

  3. Thanks for posting info about this. I’m not around campus and couldn’t find any more information.

  4. Larry was a really good guy. I only took a few print classes while I was in school but he was always there to help. He would even help if you weren’t in school anymore (a frantic email to him about screen printing supplies last year proves this…). He always had the time help me out. He will be missed.

  5. Thank you for setting up this post. I graduated from the Printmaking Graduate Program before it was shut down. Larry was the Man. When you wanted help, the other print professors were usually gone, but Larry was always there. He was funny, laid-back, and the only person i could talk basketball or football with in the art program. When i think of my graduate experience, he was one of the few bright spots. Larry will be missed but his influence and spirit will live on. I am glad to have learned and be mentored under such a warm, humorous, Sonics loving printmaker.
    uspoor
    UW Graduate Printmaking Program
    1998

Leave a Reply

 
